top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElliot Smith

The Space Settlement Film Project


Personal Response:

How did you grow as digital artist in this project?

This project is my proudest moment in my movie making career. I put a lot of effort and learned a lot in this project, for example, not the best lighting makes ppl look transparent when you green screen them. I feel that I learned a lot about the making of documentary and entertainment type filmes as far a b-roll and how everything should fit together.

How can circular motion, torque center of gravity and Newton’s First Law be applied to a space settlement?

The most important thing for a space settlement is ofcourse gravity, and all of these elements can work together to generate artificial gravity. The first combines Newton’s first law and circular motion. Basically to artificial gravity you have to spin, the best way to do that is to make rings that extend outside of the main column. Then you have to spin them. Now what that does is it provides centrifugal force, (a technically fictitious force) that will pull anything within the ring to the outer edge. Imagine you are a little ladybug, and you are in a can on a string, and a big human is generating torque and spinning you around horizonaly. You, (the little ladybug) would feel gravity pulling you toward the bottom of the can, and you would even be able to walk around on the bottom of the can. Now this comes mainly from Newton’s first law, that “an object in motion will stay in motion unless acted upon by an unbalanced force.” Now, when you are spinning, you will be trying to keep going at a tangent from the circle at all times, but before you can start going that way, another part of the circle comes along and catches you and keeps you in the circle. Now for center of gravity, or center of balance, so now imagine that you are the ladybug in the can again, but this time you are not spinning in a perfect circle, it's sort of an oval, now you will be sucked to the floor of the can as it gets closer to the center, but as is moves away from the center, you go into freefall until the side of the can slaps you, then you are sucked back to the bottom again, now imagine if that was you as a human,

Which of the 21st Century Skills was your greatest strength during this project?

I feel like I was equally good at Adaptation, Creativity, and Problem Solving. I of course used my creativity to create my movie that I’m really proud of. But for the most important part of the project, I didn’t have a group. Jai left for belgum and Roxy and Tina split up me and Mya, leaving me by myself without an editor and just about everything else I needed to do the project, So I had to adapt and problem solve, for example I borrowed a computer from Dusty (our IT master) and installed a editor on it to use for the project. I also went to the MakerLab and worked on the Mac there to gain access to the adobe suite. As it turned out, Jai came back at the end of the project and saved me and my grade but I did use my 21st Century Skills!

Which of the 21st Century Skills was your greatest area for growth during this project?

Definitely Collaboration and Communication. I’m a bad group member and I know it, and ‘m trying to work on it. The greatest example of this is when Mya left my group, I thought it was her asking to switch because we were arguing, and so I was mad at her, but it was actually Tina and Roxy because we were in separate classes.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trebuchets (yeet)

In this project, we were asked to use concepts of physics to design trebuchets, in an attempt to launch a potato as far as possible to then compete at an exhibition. We were also supposed to connect o

bottom of page