top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElliot Smith

Trebuchets (yeet)

In this project, we were asked to use concepts of physics to design trebuchets, in an attempt to launch a potato as far as possible to then compete at an exhibition. We were also supposed to connect our trebuchet to a specific time era where trebuchets were used. We were supposed to represent that era either by decorating the trebuchets or ourselves to look like a trebuchet or trebuchet user from that era. The purpose of his project was to teach us basic physics concepts such as projectile motion, free fall energy and other basics of motion in physics. We were taught by being forced to intake the information, then giving us something hands on to apply it.


As an extension for this project (something that you undertake for fun or challenge that is not required), I made a video of the exhibition. Scroll to the bottom of this post to watch it. I apologize for the poor quality, that is due to an effect I tried and failed to create.

Now for some things I learned.

First of all, we had 2 essential questions, How can you throw a projectile as far as possible with a trebuchet? and What Does it means to be in a community of learners? I will answer the first one first. You throw a projectile as far as possible by maximizing its speed and power, and there are certain ways to do that. To start off you want to maximize the kinetic energy at the point of launch, you must maximize your potential energy before it is released to maximize kinetic after. You would think it is just as simple as adding weight, but it is not. you need to have the right ratio of projectile weight too. Second, you want to maximize its velocity. This is accomplished by multiple things, the first the correct arm to arm ratio. The arm holding the sling for the projectile should be 3.75 times the length of the arm holding the counterweight. You also need the correct arm to pivot height ratio. This Should Be 4 (pivot height) to 6 (arm length). Finally, this is done by making a sling that is the same length of the arm it is attached too, that maximizes rotational velocity.

Finally you want to maximize the projectile motion. This is done by making sure the projectile is released form the sling when the sling is at 45 degrees to the arm. This is done by making a pin and add something to slide off of it, connecting it to one side of the sling. At the right angle it releases, releasing one side of the sling and opening it up to release the projectile.


Now to answer the second essential question. Being in a community of learners means being able to collaborate with the other students around you in a way that is beneficial to your learning. To collaborate you have to be able to communicate effectively, be able to get your point across clearly and respectfully, a skill I struggle with. You also have to be able to work with people you might not be very fond of, and get along with everyone. These are all skills I struggle with and am working to improve on si that I can get to most out of my community of learners.

Being in a community of learners also means being able to solve problems and work things out. That means having critical thinking skills a being able to understand the problem and or what you are supposed to do. This also means coming up with creative solutions for the problem you are supposed to be solving. This is the area where I excel. I think that I am rather good at creative problem solving and critical thinking when given enough time.


Another question we had to answer were what challenged you the most in this project. I found challenges in the actual building of the trebuchet. Me and my group had a had different ideas about how the thing should be built. We were able to figure it out in the end, but I struggled with finding a compromise for how I wanted it to be and how they wanted it to be.


The Fourth and final question we were asked was, "What personal strengths did you bring to the group and how did they help?" I brought my critical thinking skills and my experience a building thing. These skills helped my group in the design stages when I was making ideas and trying to think of the best design to use for my trebuchet. My building experience helped me when we were actually building the trebuchets. I knew how to do things without being told (Shaw didn't think so, but that's ok). I found that if everyone in the group brings a different skill set to a group, then that group has more chance of succeeding.


Ok, Now you can watch the video!!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Space Settlement Film Project

Watch My Video Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKwcdbUYQRw&t Personal Response: How did you grow as digital artist in this project? This project is my proudest moment in my movie making career.

bottom of page